Deluxe Edition of “Goosebumps The Musical” Album Released Featuring Instrumental Tracks

A new “Deluxe Edition” of Goosebumps® The Musical: Phantom of the Auditorium (Original Studio Cast Recording) is available today from Ghostlight Records, featuring (by popular demand) 15 never-before-released instrumental / karaoke versions of the songs. The original edition of the bestselling album recently debuted at #12 on the Billboard Cast Albums chart and remains the #1 bestseller on Amazon’s “Hot New Releases” chart.

The “Deluxe Edition” highlights the work of the superb orchestral musicians whose credits range from Broadway to West End to major symphony orchestras. The orchestra includes Mira Magrill (flute/piccolo), Mark Dover (clarinet/bass clarinet/saxophones), Cameron West (french horn), Connor Pietrzak (trumpet), Jen Hinkle (trombone/bass trombone), Alex Marchisone (drums), Reinaldo Ocando (percussion for “The Legend”), Danny Abosch (keyboards/electronic music production), Jakob Reinhardt (guitars), Kristi Shade (harp), Will Curry (violin/viola), Zoë Miller (violin), Chelsea Starbuck Smith (violin), Ronald Villabona (violin), Michele Zimmerman (violin), Molly Goldman (viola), Laura Sacks (viola), Daniel Gonzalez (cello), Yoed Nir (cello), Jay Tilton (cello), Gonzalo Carmelé (double bass), Michael Epperhart (double/electric bass), John Gray (double/electric bass), and Matthew Weber (double bass).

The musical is based on the book by R.L. Stine published by Scholastic Inc., and features music and lyrics by Danny Abosch and book and lyrics by John Maclay. The all-star cast includes Krystina Alabado (Mean Girls,“ Better Nate Than Ever”), Alex Brightman (Tony Award® nominee for Beetlejuice), Noah Galvin (Dear Evan Hansen, “The Real O’Neals”), Sheryl Lee Ralph (Tony nominee for Dreamgirls, “Abbott Elementary”), Will Roland (Dear Evan Hansen, Be More Chill), and Stephanie Styles (Kiss Me Kate, “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist”, “Loot”), in addition to a special appearance from R.L. Stine himself. The album features arrangements, orchestrations, music direction, editing, and mixing by Danny Abosch and mastering by Justin Colletti / Joe Lambert Mastering. The album is produced by Danny Abosch for Danomalous Productions, LLC.

Since the album’s original release by Ghostlight Records, the album’s viral hit song, “The Story of The Phantom”, has garnered millions of streams across TikTok, YouTube, Spotify, and other platforms, and spawned hundreds of fan-made cover videos. A collectible CD edition was released in June featuring a full-color 32-page booklet with lyrics, synopsis, and never-before-seen photos of the cast from the recording sessions, as well as the cover art by legendary Goosebumps illustrator Tim Jacobus.

To stream or purchase the album, please visit:

To purchase sheet music, please visit:

For more details and full album credits, please visit

In case you missed it…

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

“From the very start of this album I was hooked. It is infectious and beware: some of the tracks can become earworms – you’ll be singing them in your head and wondering where they came from.”

“I loved it! In fact, I loved it so much I listened to the album three times in a row trying to find something negative to say in this review but, I’m afraid, I couldn’t find a thing. It is funny, it tells a story, the music is irresistible and all the artists taking part in the recording are completely in character.”

“I could dissect the story and the characters and tell you how wonderful they all are but I would prefer you to purchase the album and find that out for yourself!”

— Nick Wakeham, Musical Theatre Review
Full article: CD Review: Goosebumps – The Phantom of the Auditorium

Follow (if you dare!)

Recording © 2021 John Maclay and Danny Abosch
GOOSEBUMPS® and associated logos are trademarks and/or registered marks of Scholastic Inc.
Based on Goosebumps® Phantom of the Auditorium. All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

© 2017 Danny Abosch. Goosebumps® is a trademark of Scholastic Inc. Art & Photos: Michelle Dimuzio, Tim Jacobus, Robin Preiss Glasser, First Stage, Scholastic, Lauren Machlica,, Tommy Nolan, Paul Ruffolo, Chris Dzombak.